How to Open Chakras

woman doing yoga at sunset

Chakras are spinning forces of energy in our bodies that serve as our life force. The word comes from the Sanskrit word for “wheel.” There are seven main chakras in the body – running in a line from the base of the spine to the top of your head. They connect your physical body and your spiritual energies.

It is common for chakras to become blocked or closed off over time. As a result, other chakras may be spinning overly fast in an attempt to compensate. When your chakras are out of balance, you will feel the effects of this irregular energy flow impacting your physical and emotional well-being.

Opening your chakras is the key to restoring balance to your body and self. Once you cleanse the chakras that are blocked, those that are overcompensating should return to their natural pace. If you are interested in opening your chakras and finding the balance in your life, here are a few tips to help you get started.

Finding Your Chakras

If you are new to the practice of opening your chakras, these exercises may feel a bit strange at first. Just try to relax and go with the flow. Like most things, you will become more comfortable with these exercises with time and practice.

Before you begin opening your chakras, find a quiet space where you can focus uninterrupted. Sit down and take some deep breaths, allowing tension to release from your body.

When you are ready, start to picture each chakra one by one. Begin with the chakra at the base of your spine and slowly work your way up. Picture the color associated with each chakra and try to feel how they spin and move with your breath. Once you have completed this introduction of the seven chakras, you are ready to focus on them each individually.

First Chakra: The Root Chakra

Seated at the base of the spine, the root chakra is a red color. Thanks to its close proximity to the earth, it is responsible for keeping you “grounded.” If your root chakra is blocked, you may struggle with fear, paranoia, or procrastination.

Opening your root chakra can help you restore feelings of safety and security. Begin by standing with your feet shoulder width apart. Balance your weight evenly and focus on the feeling of being grounded. After a few minutes, sit down on the floor, cross your legs, and touch your thumbs to the tips of your index fingers. As you rest your hands on your knees, close your eyes and focus on the red energy of the root chakra, chanting the sound “lam.” It may help to visualize a flower opening from the positive energy.

Second Chakra: The Sacral Chakra

Located in between the base of your spine and your belly button, the sacral chakra is an orange chakra connected with your desires and sexuality. If this chakra is blocked, you may find yourself struggling to keep your emotions in check. You may be dealing with emotional issues, such as compulsive or obsessive behaviors.

To open your sacral chakra, start by sitting on your knees. Keep your back straight, but stay relaxed as you focus on this orange chakra. Lay your hands-on top of one another with your palms facing up. Allow your thumbs to touch and chant “vam.”

Third Chakra: The Solar Plexus Chakra

Seated a few inches above your belly button, the solar plexus chakra is yellow in color. It also pertains to your emotions, including your happiness, anger, and ambitions. When this chakra is blocked, you are likely to feel angry and frustrated. A blockage of the solar plexus chakra can also leave you without a clear sense of direction or purpose in life.

In order to open your solar plexus chakra, you should remain seated on your knees. The difference here comes from the position of your hands. Extend your fingers and press your palms together, crossing one thumb over the other. Chant with the “ram” sound as you clear your emotions and open this chakra.

Fourth Chakra: The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is likely to be exactly what you might expect. Located in your heart, this chakra is the center of your feelings of love and compassion. What you may find a bit surprising is its green color. Blockages of the heart chakra can present as feelings of isolation or a lack of compassion for others.

To open your heart chakra, you should return to the position you took when opening your root chakra – sitting cross legged on the floor with your thumbs and index fingers touching. Rest your left hand on top of your left knee and bring your right hand to your chest, resting on the lower part of the breastbone in line with your heart. During your meditation, chant the sound “yam.”

Fifth Chakra: The Throat Chakra

Located in the throat, the turquoise throat chakra is related to how you communicate and express yourself. Blockages of the throat chakra usually manifest themselves in one of two areas. The first is an inability to clearly and effectively communicate your thoughts, ideas, and needs to others. Or, you may find yourself struggling with terrible blocks of creativity.

While sitting cross legged on the floor, begin to open your throat chakra by putting your hands in front of your chest with the palms facing towards you. Interlock your fingers, curling them in until you can touch your thumbs at the top. Focus on the turquoise energy in your throat and chant the sound “ham.”

Sixth Chakra: The Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is located in the center of your forehead, between your eyebrows. This chakra is the color indigo and is related to your spiritual nature. This includes your perception, intuition, dreams, and wisdom. When your third eye chakra is blocked, you likely struggle with mental rigidity and a lack of foresight. It also commonly causes feelings of depression.

As you sit on the floor, begin opening your third eye chakra by bringing your hands together in front your chest. While you thumbs touch, bend your fingers to allow the top two knuckles of each finger to touch the corresponding knuckles on the other hand. Straighten your third fingers, allowing the fingertips to touch, and begin to chant “om.”

Seventh Chakra: The Crown Chakra

The crown chakra at the top of your head is violet in color. This chakra is focused on your understanding, acceptance, and divine purpose. Psychological issues are common when the crown chakra is blocked.

When opening your crown chakra, clasp your hands together in front of your stomach. Extend the pinky finger and allow the fingertips to touch. As you focus on the crown chakra, chant the sound “ng.”

Do you feel out of balance? A Keen chakra reading can help you determine which of your chakras are blocked and how you can cleanse your chakras. Your chakra reader can also help supply information about why your chakras are getting blocked. Connect today for your chakra cleansing via phone, email, or chat.

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top