How to Read and Use Color in the Aura

How to Read and Use Color in the Aura and in HealingAngie was working with me to develop her psychic abilities. She was so excited when she began to see people’s auras, but this skill opened up a whole new level of questions: what did the colors mean? Did they change? Why? Were they correlated with chakras?

These are great questions. We can tell a lot about someone from the color present in their aura. I also use color in energy work to help with emotional healing. Some therapists use color exclusively in their healing work and even recommend useful colors to wear or have in the home. But what is so powerful about color—it’s just light, right?

What is Color?

Color is made up of light and energy. Most of us played with a prism in school and saw how light was refracted to make a rainbow. And we’ve all seen a rainbow in the sky, a visible reminder of the spectrum of light and how it manifests to our eye. We can perceive light within certain wavelengths but are also affected by light we can’t see—think ultra-violet rays. Because at the core, we are also made up of energy, it isn’t so unbelievable that our energy could be affected by other energies—in this case, those of light manifested as color.

What Do Colors in the Aura Mean?

Colors in the aura pertain to moods and chakra functions. The main colors you will see are red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet, but we can also see black, grey, and metallic colors. Depending on which level of the energy field you are perceiving, colors may be pearlescent or appear sparkly.

Colors in our energy field are not too difficult to interpret. For example, we often associate the color red with anger, and it can mean this in the aura; likewise, we associate green with love or healing, and an abundance of green in the aura speaks to the loving nature of that individual—at least at that moment.

Most of us don’t consciously manipulate the colors in our aura, so if you can read auras, you can help the person understand what type of energy they are carrying around or help them release negative moods. For Angie, this was a lifesaver. As the mother of three small children, she was able to see what her children were feeling and help them express it even when they couldn’t name the feeling themselves. She has one very quiet boy, and she struggles to know what he’s thinking or feeling. By tuning into his aura, she could tell when he was angry, sad, or happily in his own world.

Let’s look at what colors in the aura mean. Colors vary in intensity and hue, and, like anything else, can express themselves positively or negatively. Muddy colors will usually correspond to a sluggish or underactive chakra while bright colors indicate an energized chakra.

Red: On the positive side, this can show a healthy ego, vibrant life force, and focused energy.  Deep or bright reds show a strong will, passion, and enthusiasm. Muddy reds denote anger, anxiety, or withheld emotion. A bright pink shows honesty, compassion, and creativity while muddy pink indicates dishonesty or immaturity. This color also corresponds to the Root/first chakra.

Orange: Reddish-oranges show confidence, and clear, bright hues communicate productivity, creativity, or courage. Vibrant oranges can show excitement or just vitality of the whole being. Muddy colors show anxiety, apathy, or suppressed emotion. Orange is connected to the Sacral/Second chakra.

Yellow: This color shows intellectual stimulation or activity, brightness of spirit, optimism, and interest in life. Harsh, bright shades may indicate an attempt at mental control or mental rigidity. Paler hues denote psychic openness or awareness. Muddy yellows can show a sluggish or overwhelmed mental body. It corresponds to the Solar Plexus/Third chakra.

Green: In a positive expression, bright greens indicate love, openness, balance, and growth. Lighter shades can show healing capacities. Muddy or dark green colors show jealousy, envy, bitterness, victimization, or withheld love. Grief can appear as a dark, slow moving green. Green aligns with the Heart/Fourth chakra.

Blue: Most shades, from turquoise to royal blue, indicate intuition, calm, clarity of mind, peace, and openness to communication. Muddy blues show fear of the future, narrow-mindedness, or suppressed communication. This color is connected to the Throat/Fifth chakra.

Indigo: This is the color of deep emotions and psychic sensitivity. It also expresses vision for your future and clairvoyance and is aligned with the Third Eye/Sixth chakra.

Violet: This is a sensitive color and is seen in the auras of visionaries, intuitives, deeply spiritual people, artists, and creatives. Lavender shades indicate daydreaming or imagination. Violet correlates with the Crown/Seventh chakra.

Silver/White:  These are colors of purity, spiritual protection, awareness, and orientation. They are cleansing colors that prevent psychic contamination. They are also associated with the Crown chakra.

Gold: This color indicates spiritual awakening, inspiration, divine guidance, and awareness of universal law. It is consistent with the Eighth chakra.

Black: This color in the aura usually indicates someone who is cut off from their spirit or unaware of their spiritual nature. This doesn’t mean evil—just a lack of awareness of spiritual connection and responsibility. It can show up as grief, but I mostly see grief reflected as muddy greens or greys. Suppressed emotion, guilt, or despair can all show up as black in the aura.

Grey: Grey can communicate indecision, disengagement, fear, skepticism, and holding back, depending on the intensity of the color. Sometimes people who are very “checked out” have a lot of light grey in their aura.

You can use these basic colors to fill your own aura, for example, with protective white light. You can wear colors that correspond to a feeling you want to create or communicate. If, like Angie, you can sense colors in the aura, or if you have your aura read by a psychic, then you can understand events in your energetic field that you may not be consciously aware of. Colors can impact mood and emotional or mental health. They can change the feeling of you, a room, or a whole group of people. In order to channel colors and energies you want to cultivate, you can try painting an office yellow, a bedroom blue or lavender, and your art studio orange. Color is a powerful energetic tool and fun to play with—experiment and see for yourself!

Do you know what colors are in your aura? Are you curious about how your chakras are functioning? An advisor on Keen can look at this for you. Call today!

Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top